Reading Minute Resources

The Reading Minute (aka Article of the Day)

The resources below support Kelly Gallagher’s strategy of doing “minute readings” on a daily basis. You can read about Gallagher’s approach here.

Like Gallagher, I start the process and then ask kids to bring in their own readings to share with the class. Additionally, I will read from things the students will later read independently. This helps scaffold the students into the content.

I also use video as part of this effort. It’s a nice match for Common Core Reading Information Standard 7. Draw on information from multiple print or digital sources, demonstrating the ability to locate an answer to a question quickly or to solve a problem efficiently.

You can find secondary examples here.

Subject Link
Are Streaming Services Killing Music https://newsela.com/articles/music-streaming/id/5988/
Fidget Spinners: What’s the Deal from BBC Video http://www.bbc.com/news/video_and_audio/headlines/39798767/fidget-spinners-what-s-the-deal
Canola: What the Heck is it? Video http://www.pbs.org/video/3001281061/
Why Does Asparagus make your Pee Smell Video http://www.pbs.org/food/how-does-it-grow/quick-bite-asparagus-make-pee-smell/
Why you Can’t Defrost a Salad yet http://www.nonfictionminute.org/the-nonfiction-minute/why-you-cant-defrost-a-saladyet
Tick Tock: A Carpenter Solves an Ocean Riddle http://www.nonfictionminute.org/the-nonfiction-minute/category/clocks
A Solitary Life (Video) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vao7T4__0Xw
How Old are you in Seconds? http://www.nonfictionminute.org/the-nonfiction-minute/category/math
The Crazy Secrets of the Cashew Video http://www.pbs.org/video/3001214501/
Letter from a Nut: Nordstrom’s http://www.tedlnancy.com/letters/letters-from-a-nut/nordstrom.php
Letter from a Nut: Sponge http://www.tedlnancy.com/letters/letters-from-a-nut/sponge.php
Letter from a Nut: Own Waiter http://www.tedlnancy.com/letters/letters-from-a-nut/own-waiter.php
Making Rubber Toys (1957) Video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xvEVI8G0Z_8
The Grammar Lesson (Poem) http://www.loc.gov/poetry/180/106.html
The Scorpion and the Frog http://allaboutfrogs.org/stories/scorpion.html
The Fox and the Crow http://read.gov/aesop/027.html
What’s the Point of a School Uniform? https://www.theguardian.com/education/mortarboard/2013/oct/03/why-wear-school-uniform
Should Boys and Girls be Taught Separately http://sni.scholastic.com/Debates/04_04_16
Cyberbullying http://www.scholastic.com/browse/article.jsp?id=5409
Four Inspiring Stories from World Famous Companies https://yourstory.com/2014/03/inspiring-stories/
Why are Doughnut Boxes Pink? https://www.bathroomreader.com/2017/07/why-are-doughnut-boxes-pink/
The Kitten that Climbed the Matterhorn https://www.bathroomreader.com/2015/06/cool-history-facts-cat-that-climed-the-matterhorn/
Welcome to Jurassic Park? https://www.bathroomreader.com/2015/06/welcome-jurassic-park/
How Toy Testers Work http://money.howstuffworks.com/toy-tester.htm

 

Advertisements